About us

The Queensland Council of Unions (QCU) is the peak union body in Queensland with 26 affiliated unions representing the interests of 400,000 Queensland workers.

Since its foundation in 1885, the QCU — as the peak body for the Queensland trade union movement — has strived to achieve industrial, social and political justice for Queensland workers.

Our Statement of Values

“As Queensland unions we commit to stand together as a movement of workers for workers.

We gain our power and strength by working collectively and cooperatively, and in solidarity with each other.

Everyone has a right to be safe and respected and we stand against any form of discrimination and all forms of harassment.

Our movement is stronger because we seek to be inclusive and embrace diversity, equity, and fairness as fundamental tenets of who we are as a movement”.


Our Leadership Team

Jacqueline King - General Secretary

Jacqueline King has a diverse background within the fields of industrial relations, work health and safety, and skills and training.

She was elected General Secretary on 31 July 2023, having previously held the role of Acting General Secretary since December 2022 and QCU Assistant General Secretary since February 2020.

Jacqueline has a wealth of experience in the union movement, including a variety of roles across the Finance Sector Union, the Australian Services Union, the Australian Manufacturing Workers Union and the Australian Council of Trade Unions.

Jacqueline is known for her passion and strong advocacy for women’s rights and has led campaigns to address pay inequity and sexual harassment in workplaces.

Jacqueline is also deeply committed to addressing workplace health and safety issues and has been a strong advocate for preventing psycho-social hazards such as harassment, occupational violence and intensive workloads.

Jacqueline holds a Bachelor of Law (Honours) First Class Honours degree, a Graduate Diploma of Professional Legal Practice, a Master of Business Administration, and several qualifications in work, health and safety, management and training design and development. 

Jared Abbott - Assistant General Secretary

Jared Abbott was elected Assistant General Secretary of the QCU in November 2023, having lead TWU Queensland through two years of record growth since coming to Australia in late 2021.

Prior to joining the TWU, Jared was the National Secretary for FIRST Union’s Transport, Logistics, and Manufacturing Division in New Zealand. 

He has over 20 years’ involvement in unions from leading successful strike action as a union member and site delegate through to organising, and senior leadership positions including being a member of national management committees of unions in both New Zealand and Australia.

Jared has a passion and proven record for developing and executing creative and ambitious campaigns to win change for working people.

Jared has been actively involved with a number of Global Union Federations including the International Transport-workers Federation (ITF), UniGlobal, Building Workers International (BWI), and the International Union of Foodworkers (IUF).

Jared has presented key-note speeches in all corners of the globe, on subjects from organising labour-hire workers to Just Transition.

Jared has also lead national negotiations of the some of the largest private sector Enterprise Agreements in Australia and New Zealand.



Our Executive

Honorary President

Kate Ruttiman (QTU)

General Secretary

Jacqueline King

Assistant General Secretary

Jared Abbott

Senior Vice-Presidents

Sarah Beaman (QNMU)
Peter Ong (ETU)


Alex Scott (Together)
Rohan Webb (AMWU)
Terry Burke (IEUA-QNT)
Gary Bullock (UWU)
Jennifer Thomas (The Services Union)
Sally Gunner (CPSU)
Peter Allen (RTBU)

Honorary Treasurer

Wendy Streets (Finance Sector Union)

Executive Members

Michael McKitrick (AFULE)
Peter Toohey (AIMPE)
Matt Journeaux (AMIEU)
Ann-Marie Allan (AMWU)
Cameron Bird (CWU)
Jason Young (CEPU ETU)
Gary O’Halloran (CEPU Plumbing)
Alison Rudman (CFMEU Manufacturing)
Rebecca Sisson (IEUA-QNT)
Michelle Rae (MEAA)
Jason Miners (MUA)
Michael McNally (NTEU)
Sean Kelly (Professionals Australia)
Denise Breadsell (QNMU)
Grant Burton (QNMU)
Luke Moore (QPU)
Shane Prior (QPU)
Cresta Richardson (QTU)
Brendan Crotty (QTU)
Dee Spink (Together)
Sharon Abbott (Together)
Josh Millroy (TWU)
John Oliver (UFU)

Our Affiliates

Australian Federated Union of Locomotive Employees (AFULE)
Australian Institute of Marine and Power Engineers (AIMPE)
Australasian Meat Industry Employees’ Union (AMIEU)
Australian Maritime Officers Union (AMOU)
Australian Manufacturing Workers Union (AMWU)
Communication Workers Union (CWU)
Community and public sector union (CPSU)
Collieries Staff and Officials Association (CSOA)
Electrical Trades Unions (ETU)
Finance Sector Union (FSU)
Independent Education Union (IEUA)
Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance (MEAA)
Maritime Union of Australia (MUA)

National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU)
Plumbers Union / Plumbing and Pipe Trades Employees Union (PPTEU)
Professionals Australia
Queensland Nurses and Midwives’ Union (QNMU)
Queensland Police Union (QPU)
Queensland Teachers Union (QTU)
Rail, Tram and Bus Union (RBTU)
The Services Union (TSU)
Transport Workers Union (TWU)
United Firefighters Union (UFU)
United Workers Union (UWU)